Tags

, , , , , , , ,

van-hunt-cd-cvr-2006.jpg

One of my New Year’s resolutions was to attend at least once concert a month. That’s one I’ve actually been able to keep. So far this year I’ve seen:

  • Prince live at his Club 3121 in Vegas
  • Bilal (3 times–DC, Philly, NYC)
  • Hip Hop Honors Tour (Roots, Big Daddy Kane, MC Lyte)
  • Chrisette Michele
  • Meshell Ndegeocello
  • Kindred
  • Patti Labelle
  • Anthony David
  • Jill Scott (premiered Hate on Me at Black Lily before it hit the airwaves!)
  • Eric Roberson / Franklin Bridge
  • Amy Winehouse
  • Various artists during Black Lily in Philly
  • Ledisi
  • Fertile Ground
  • Brand New Heavies
  • Hil St Soul
  • Najee
  • Conya Doss
  • Julie Dexter
  • Buju Banton
  • LL Cool J
  • Mary J Blige
  • Donnie

collage_small1.gif

This isn’t even a complete list, especially since I often attend shows and events where several artists perform.

Obviously, 2007 has been a good year musically. I have to thank MN8 for consistently bringing the hotness to this area, including The Van Hunt Experience.

If you’ve never heard of Van Hunt, you can find out more at his official website, on Myspace, or chat with other EVANgelists on his message board.

This was my second time seeing Van, but this was the first time I felt him. A Van Hunt concert is like being at an intimate jam session. You almost feel like a voyeur while him and the band make love to their instruments. It feels like a privilige to be a part of the experience, although it’s apparent that he’s still very much grateful for our presence. Although he has quite the faithful following, he’s still seems in awe of it all…and it’s believable.

Check out some videos from the concert:

Hot Stage Lights

Lowest 1 of My Desires (not for the prudes out there! you’ve been warned!)

Down Here in Hell (I swear this will be my wedding song)

Dust

 Hello Goodbye

This was the perfect way to end my getaway weekend. I left there feeling high and smiling more than I have in weeks. While I was in Philly, I met a woman who said she doesn’t buy much music. She has a few of her old school hip hop tunes and that’s all she listens to. I pity her. She doesn’t know what she’s missing. 

Check out my You Tube channel for video I’ve recorded at the Donnie concert and the VH1 Honors Tour featuring The Roots, Big Daddy Kane and MCLyte.