Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

by vivrant thang on old school friday

I could just kiss whoever came up with this week’s theme. If you didn’t already know, I got mad love for Philly…the city and the soul.  I call Philly my second home because it’s nothing for me to head up there for a show at my favorite venue. I’m actually heading up there next weekend to rock out all day with The Roots. I can’t forget to mention that it’s also the home of my 2009 Superbowl Champion Philadelphia Eagles!

I’ve already covered a couple of my favorite Philly artists here and here. My first inclination was to ignore the “before 1993” requirement and hip you to some Philly flava you need to have in your ear. Look for that post next week. There’s certainly enough talent coming out of the city to cover several posts. Besides, we need to first look back first before we move forward.

No other way to start this off than by talking about Gamble and Huff, a song-writing and producing duo who were the pioneers of Philadelphia soul. They founded Philadelphia International Records in 1991, which was home to many of the artists I’ve featured here. Together and independently, they have written and produced over 170 platinum and gold albums for artists such as The Jacksons, The Intruders, Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes, Wilson Pickett and The Mighty Mighty OJays….

Ojays, Philadelphia

I Love Music (produced by Gamble & Huff)

Backstabbers (produced by Gamble & Huff)

Family Reunion

Phyllis Hyman, Lancaster, PA

You Know How To Love Me

Living All Alone

 

Teddy Pendergrass, Philadelphia, PA

Love TKO

Close The Door

 

Hall and Oates, Philadelphia (met at Temple)

Ya’ll already know Sara Smile is my song so I changed it up this time.

I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do)

 

Patti Labelle, West Philadelphia, PA

Somebody Loves You Baby

When You’ve Been Blessed

 

Stylistics, one of the best known Philly soul groups in the 70s

You Make Me Feel Brand New

Hurry Up This Way Again

I just know you haven’t had enough. Head on over to the other participants’ blogs and get some more of that classic Philly soul…if you have any energy left!

Electronic Village | Chatting Over Cocktails | Mrs Grapevine | Quick | Marcus LANGFORD | Cassandra | Danielle |  Lisa C | Chocl8t  |  DP |  Kreative Talk | MarvalusOne | Regina |  LaShonda |  AJ | Sharon | Invisible Woman | Believer 1964 | Dee  |SJP | sHaE-sHae